skip to content

Mission and vision

Mission

We are Jakob Smits....

A recognised municipal museum that gathers, researches, treasures, exhibits and is constantly inspired by the work, archives and life of the artist Jakob Smits and his contemporaries from the Molse School.

Driven, determined, committed, nonconformist.

We are without doubt a child of our master. Jakob Smits drew Mol and the Campine, a natural region situated in the north-east of Belgium and parts of the south-east of the Netherlands. Literally in his art, but also figuratively through his strong personality and broad network.

As a museum we also influence our environment.

By actively contributing to the local and supralocal art landscape.

By juxtaposing the techniques, themes and symbolism of Smits and the Molse School with contemporary work by local, national and international artists.

By challenging young and old to reflect on and discuss about art.

By seeking our own high-quality partnerships.

Vision

Jakob Smits (1855 - 1928), a man with an interesting story, who drew Mol and its surroundings. He left his homeland, The Netherlands, and ended up in a poor farmhouse. The passionate and determined artist was inspired by light and nature and was thus an early cultural ambassador of the Campine region. However, committed and contradictory as he was, life was hard on him. His story in turn inspires others. He stood amongst the people, felt connected to them, but dared to think outside the box.

The museum wants to take on the role that Jakob Smits used to play in Mol: drawing the surroundings to stimulate visitors, young and old alike. The Jakob Smits Museum gives the collection and values of Jakob Smits and the Molse School a modern setting. The museum collects, preserves, takes care of, researches and opens up works of art and cultural heritage of Smits and its colleagues in a dynamic and easily accessible way. Both inside and outside the museum, the stories and works are visible to the public. The landscape in Mol and its surroundings leads visitors to the museum and vice versa.

The museum offers toddlers and young children in Mol and the wider surroundings a first introduction to 'art'. The occasional tourist enriches his cultural knowledge about the Campine landscape and the Molse School. Workshops, lectures and other public activities increase the knowledge about Smits' life, work and techniques. High-quality exhibitions offer an innovative look at artists who have a link with the content or technical aspects or who were inspired by the life and/or work of Smits or the Molse School. The museum and its collection stands for quality and is a knowledge center with the capital ‘K’ of JaKob.

The Jakob Smits Museum is an inspiring place that takes on the role catalyst of visual arts in Mol. It is a place where you can enjoy, observe and be amazed by art. It’s a place where you can reflect on Jakob Smits and the landscape of Mol from the past to the present. The museum is a place where artists can work temporarily, show work, where a work of art evolves and where there is room for cross-pollination between (young) artists, education, etc .

au contenu

Mission et vision

Mission

Nous sommes Jakob Smits......

Un musée communal reconnu qui rassemble, étudie, conserve et expose l’œuvre, les archives et la vie du peintre Jakob Smits et de ses contemporains de l’École de Mol et qui nous inspire constamment.

Passionné, têtu, engagé, audacieux.

Nous sommes sans aucun doute un pur produit de notre maître. Non seulement Jakob Smits a représenté Mol et la Campine dans ses tableaux et ses dessins, mais il a également contribué à l’image de la commune, grâce à sa forte personnalité et à ses nombreuses relations.

En tant que musée, nous façonnons aussi notre environnement.

En jouant un rôle actif dans le paysage artistique local et supralocal.

En confrontant la technique, la thématique et la symbolique de Smits et de l’École de Mol avec des œuvres contemporaines d’artistes locaux, nationaux et internationaux.

En invitant les jeunes ainsi que les personnes plus âgées à réfléchir aux œuvres d’art et à en discuter.

En organisant des collaborations audacieuses et de haute qualité.

Vision

Jakob Smits (1855 - 1928), un homme avec une histoire passionnante, représente Mol et ses environs dans ses tableaux et dessins. Il quitte son pays natal, les Pays-Bas, et atterrit dans une pauvre fermette. L’artiste peintre passionné et obstiné, inspiré par la lumière et la nature, est un des premiers ambassadeurs culturels de la Campine. Engagé et audacieux, il est lui-même marqué par la vie, ce qui inspire les autres. Il est proche des gens, entretient des liens étroits avec eux, mais ose également se démarquer des autres.

Le musée offre aux tout-petits et aux jeunes enfants de Mol et environs une première initiation à l’art. Le touriste occasionnel peut y enrichir ses connaissances culturelles du paysage campinois et de l’École de Mol. Des ateliers, des conférences et d’autres activités publiques permettent d’approfondir ses connaissances sur la vie, l’œuvre et les techniques de Smits. Des expositions de haute qualité offrent un regard innovant sur les artistes qui ont un lien avec la thématique ou la technique de Smits ou qui ont été inspirés par sa vie et/ou son œuvre ou celle de l’École de Mol. Le musée et sa collection sont un véritable Centre de qualité et de Connaissances.

Le musée Jakob Smits est un espace inspirant qui joue le rôle de plaque tournante ou de catalyseur des arts visuels à Mol. C’est un lieu de plaisir, de contemplation et d’émerveillement pour l’art et un lieu de réflexion sur Smits et le paysage de Mol d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Le musée est un lieu où les artistes peuvent œuvrer et présenter au public le fruit de leur travail de création. C’est un endroit où une œuvre d’art évolue et un lieu propice aux échanges entre les (jeunes) artistes, l’enseignement, etc.